Monday, March 17, 2008

Another successful conference in the books

Thank you to everyone who attended the 2008 WJEA State Conference at Auburn High School on Saturday. The conference was a huge success, as we had more than 350 students and nearly 40 advisers attend.

If you missed out, you can catch up on all of the award winners here. Special congratulations to our major award winners.

  • Future Journalist of the Year: Taylor Buck, Peninsula HS (Gig Harbor)
  • Lu Flannery Outstanding Journalist: Emily Rome, Charles Wright Academy (Tacoma)
  • Newspaper Best of Show: JagWire, Emerald Ridge HS (South Hill)
  • Newsmagazine Best of Show: The Commoner, Gov. John R. Rogers HS (Puyallup)
  • Yearbook Best of Show: The Thunderbolt, Todd Beamer HS (Federal Way)
  • Adviser of the Year: Kay Locey, Gov. John R. Rogers HS (Puyallup)
  • Fern Valentine Freedom of Expression Award: Jeff Nusser, Wenatchee HS
  • Special Recognition awards: Brian Schraum and Fern Valentine
  • Adviser Scholarship awards: Stephanie Keagle, Auburn Mountainview HS (Auburn), and Michelle Hornaday, Edmonds-Woodway HS (Edmonds)
Thanks again to all who participated and attended! And don't forget to mark your calendars for the adviser and student workshops at Central Washington University.

1 comment:

Centenial College said...


I think big attendance of students there. More than 350 students.

Communication Program